Chinese New Year Greetings

gonghei.pngThere has been one thing that’s been bothering me all these years.

The term 恭喜发财 has been used indiscriminately every single time the Lunar New Year arrives. Translated loosely, the 4 words congratulate their target audience for making it rich.

However, the truth of the matter is.

“I’m sorry mate. I’m not rich. I didn’t strike it rich yet. I’m eating bread in the morning, skipping lunch and I’m looking for a job.”

Most other greetings seem fine to me. Some of them are a bit of a stretch, especially those that involve food like Fish and Kumquats.

No, seriously. I don’t need your excuses to eat food. Especially when I’ve already had a huge serving of the other traditional dish you cooked.

Leave a Reply

